Who is worthy of love?

A few months ago a new couple moved into the cube. I’ll call them Karly and Susanne (not their real names). I’ve known Karly a long time. We used to work together before I moved into the cube. As far as I could tell, Karly was then and is now completely sane. She’s lovely, funny, trustworthy, just an all round nice person. I’d moved into the cube before she met Susanne so the first time I met Susanne was a few days after they moved into the cube.

I will be honest with you Susanne was nothing like what I expected Karly to go for. I’ll be completely honest with you, after about two hours with Susanne I actually wanted to slap her! I couldn’t in anyway understand what Karly saw in this woman.

People say to me that ‘Love is blind’ but I watched Karly and I know that she saw Susanne’s faults. Not only saw them but the same things that made me want to slap Susanne were the things that endeared Karly to her! Love is not blind in any way! Love is crazily over accepting.

I think it is pretty unsurprising that the relationship between the creator and his followers is described as a marriage.  The creator loves his people. (And all people are his people). He loves them. Loves – present tense. Not ‘will love’. The creator loves his people as they are now not how they will be in the future. The creator loves his people and he isn’t blind to our faults. He sees our faults, all of them, and he doesn’t love us despite of them, he loves us because of them. We are all created in his image and we are all part of his awesome creation. He loves us so much that he sent his only son to provide a way for all of us to have eternal life with him.

I wonder, have you ever met a couple who have been married for ages? Have you noticed how somehow there is a blur between one person and the other? A bit like the electrons in a benzene ring? It happens with my parents sometimes. I say sometime to them, separately, and get the same response from both of them. I highly doubt that if I got a time machine and went back to a time before they had met and said the same thing that I’d get identical answers from them. Now, I’m not saying that when two people get married they lose their individuality but somehow, they link together, and the longer they are together the more the telepathic link between them grows.

In the same way, the longer you spend in a relationship with the creator. The closer we get, the more our thinking becomes in tune with his thinking. The longer we spend in his presence, the more of him we see. The closer we get to the creator, the closer we get to being able to solve the rubik cube.

And so, to the question, who is worthy of love? I guess the answer is everyone, and no-one. No-one is actually worthy of love, no-one actually deserves love. We’re all too messed up, hardly any of the colours on our rubik cube are on the correct side, we won’t even pay attention to the instructions and yet, everyone is worthy of love because we have been made perfect, we have been invited to walk alongside the ultimate rubik cube solver.

The thing about rubix cubes is that, sometimes, when you think you’re only a few moves away from completion, you actually have to get more messed up in order to reach the finish. Sometimes, when you think you’re doing well, you’re actually still miles away from the finish. Looking at other people’s rubik cubes and trying to judge who is closer to the finish is almost an impossible task. And in life, it is stupid and redundant to try and judge your success against the progress of other people.

Today is Easter Sunday. The day were Jesus overcame the darkness, over came negativity, overcame hate. The day when Jesus proved that love was stronger than the grave. The day when nothing could keep him away from the promised wedding between the creator and the created.

When I see Susanne now, I try to see her as the beloved of Karly. I know Karly, I trust Karly and if Karly loves Susanne then she must be worth loving.

Perhaps, when we see someone who is in the process of completing their rubik cube we should remember that they are the beloved of the creator. I know the creator, I trust the creator, and if the creator loves this person, loves them enough to step down from paradise, be put to death on a cross, and overcome the chains of death then, hey, this person must be worth loving so maybe I should get to know them, and get to love them like my creator loves them.

*

Matthew 7:3-5

Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? 4 How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? 5 You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

*

Romans 3: 22-24

This righteousness is given through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference between Jew and Gentile, 23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, 24 and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.

*

Song of Solomon 8: 6

The passion of love bursting into flame is more powerful than death,  stronger than the grave.

Leave a Reply

