How (not) to speak of God

This is my current reading material. How (not) to speak of God.

I heard Peter Rollins speaking at Greenbelt in the summer of 2011. He was in The Lord’s Arms, the greenbelt pub. Even though I’d had a pint of an excellent real ale called ‘M.I.M.’, I remember how awed I was by the newness of what he was saying and how, even though I’d never heard anyone speak as he was speaking, it was as if he’d actually worked out what I was thinking and been able to sum it up for me in ways that I couldn’t sum up myself.

‘That which we cannot speak of is the one thing about whom and to whom we must never stop speaking.’

This is the starting point of the book and he goes on to explain it in more detail throughout the book. This idea is that if we claim to understand God we are reducing him to nothing more than an idol. However, it is because we can’t understand him that we must never stop talking about him and engaging with him.

Leave a Reply

