The Flood

 

What does the death of my Lord mean to me?

It is like a flood.

It is as if I wake up to find everything I own has been destroyed by water.

It is to stand, watching, as everything I’ve worked for is washed away.

It is like trying to build defences when everything is already gone.

What is the resurrection of my Lord to me?

It is not the replacement of all my things with things that are newer, better.

It is not turning back the time to before the flood.

The resurrection is like standing in the flood waters and watching everything I own be destroyed.

It is like having everything I have ever worked for disappear.

And realising, that all of it was worthless.

Standing with nothing and understanding that I am richer from the loss.

Leave a Reply

