Ode to the snails

Real life snail!When I walk through the fields, I stand on your shells.

Your shells which are your whole worlds.

Your shells which are your life.

Most of the time I don’t even see you, before or after I kill you.

Even if I am watchful, trying not to stand on you, I still kill you.

You evolved your shells, a defence mechanism against your predators,

but you didn’t expect me to come along.

I am not your predator, I don’t want to kill you, I feel bad when I do,

but I continue to do it.

What do I learn from the life of the snail?

I remember that I shouldn’t rely on the defences I build up because I can only protect myself against the things I already know about. I cannot prepare for the unknown and it is the unknown which will destroy me.

One comment on “Ode to the snails

Leave a Reply

