Evolution

I have recently purchased The Greatest Show on Earth by Richard Dawkins.

I haven’t started reading it yet and so thought I would set out my current beliefs on the origins of the world so that I can tell if and how I change my views during/after reading it.

 

I believe that God created the universe and everything in it.

I do not believe that the Genesis account of creation was ever meant to be used as the basis of science.

I believe that the Genesis account of creation is a poem used by a nomadic people to explain something they didn’t understand.

I think that the Genesis account is beautiful and useful and true.

I believe that my current understanding of the theory of evolution is pretty good.

I understand that the use of the word ‘theory’ doesn’t mean that there isn’t evidence for it.

I believe that evolution is a pretty wonderful theory and is beautiful and is true.

I believe that Wallace should get as much credit for the Origin of the Species as Darwin does.

I do not believe that Intelligent Design is a scientific theory.

 

2 comments on “Evolution

  1. If only more people were reasonable like you and consolidated their views. You should review the book after you are done!

    • sta1986 says:

      I will attempt to review it when I’m done and I’ll probably write a whole bunch of things around it while I’m reading it. Unless it turns out to be an awful book and doesn’t challenge me at all but I don’t think that will be the case.

Leave a Reply

