Lent

I come from a denomination where lent is not really a big thing. I gave up chocolate once when I was younger and went to a church of England school and since then I’ve found the whole thing pretty hypocritical. Doing lent is a bit of a bragging right… ‘look at me, I haven’t touched chocolate for 40 days!’ really? and do you feel closer to God due to your lack of chocolate? Have you been using your normal chocolate eating time with God? chocolate

Maybe people do and I’m being too judgemental. I’ve hung out with a lot of lent’ers and it seems like the normal chocolate eating time is turned into the ‘thinking about the chocolate i’m not eating’ time.  I’m sure there are lots of people who do use this time of year to build on their relationship with God, who give up chocolate and find God. Who knows?

This year I am doing two very different lent devotions. A tradition lent reading from Youversion and a very non-traditional devotional: Atheism for Lent.

The other day I was reading about the need for dependence on God. To search for him in times of troubles. To cry out and to know that he will always be there for you. This was read alongside the idea that people see God as a glorified father, someone who will always be there for you, someone you can always depend on.  It was almost perfect syncing!

I think that a lot of people worship a god that they have created. A god in their own image. A god who likes what they like and hates what they hate.  A god who they can use to reinforce the inequalities in their world.

So during this lent time I am eating a lot more chocolate (to make up for all those people who aren’t eating it) and I guess I’m trying to see where God becomes me and where I’ve become god.

Leave a Reply

