Music in the cube

Music in the Rubik Cube of Mim is super important. It is through music that we are able to understand our own feelings. That is why a truly good song is the one that cries with you when you are sad; the one that makes you giggle every time you hear it because it reminds you of a time you giggled; the one that triggers a smell because you associate it with a smelly experience.

When I was young, before I joined the cube, I wasn’t very interested in music. This is surprising because I have played the flute ever since I was super tiny. I remember once doing a ‘play by ear’ exercise, which was where you were given the first few notes and asked to continue playing the song after the notes ran out. However, I could not do this exercise. My teacher thought it was because I lacked improvisation skills but soon found out it was because I lacked the knowledge of what the song was meant to sound like. If only he had asked me to play any song we sang in church…because I have never needed the sheet music to play church music.

When I started secondary school, it was then that I decided to take notice of the music going on around me. Mainly because I was having difficulty talking or understanding anything people were saying. We had nothing in common, no common ground to start from (5 points if you know that song reference). I started listening to music which I thought was cool. And it was very important for me to only listen to ‘cool’ music. I got very anxious when I got what cool was wrong and ended up liking music which was not cool…oh Sum41, how was I to know you were faking it?

However, as I have got older, since joining the cube, I have realised that music isn’t good because people say that it is ‘cool’ but is good when it says the things you wanted to say but had no way of saying it. When the words are not enough, some how the music makes up for it.

It can work both ways though, and that it was it can be dangerous. Sometimes, music can make you feel things that you don’t actually feel. It can pull out emotion where there isn’t anything. It can be fake.

I went on a youth weekend once where we had a busy day of activities and the evening meal had been biscuits and juice. What followed was an hour of very emotive music and then the preacher who called for us to repent. Unsurprisingly, there were tears, there were people falling over. We were told it was a sign of the holy spirit’s presence. I have always been incredibly disturbed by this incident. The music, the lack of food, the tiredness, they all created something in us that I greatly suspect were fake.

And so in the cube, we like music. We appreciate its skill in showing us how we feel, in helping us express it but we also value silence. We value being alone with our feelings so that when we hear them in the music we recognise that they were there before.

Leave a Reply

