Coming out

If I went to my parents now and told them that I was gay (I wouldn’t do it here because my dad reads this blog and finding out in a blog would be a pretty sucky way of finding out) I am certain they wouldn’t throw me out of the house, they wouldn’t disown me, they wouldn’t ignore me. I know this because they’re my parents and they love me and they support me. I’m sure that I haven’t turned into the person they thought I was going to be when I was born and they don’t love me in spite of this, they love me because of this.

I don’t understand parents who claim to be loving while turning their backs on one of their children because of something so insignificant. You can believe that sexuality is chosen if you want to ( I’d think you were wrong but you can believe it) but then many other things in life are chosen.. Career choices, where to live, to go out on Friday nights and get drunk or eating left over curry for breakfast.

And I suppose there are parents who would abandon their children due to their career choices but those parents will have missed the point.

It is sad when parents turn their backs and it is terrible when people claim that a loving God would turn his back, a God we call father. God is our creator and our sustainer. He is love to everyone and the idea that would abandon his children is slander to his nature.

Jesus came to give homes to the homeless not to create homelessness. He came to set the prisoners free not to create more. He came to the orphans not to create more.

One comment on “Coming out

  1. Ian says:

    I also find this a little difficult to fathom. Children don’t always turn out as we parents would like. Sometimes it is through choice and at other times not. Either way, I find that I cannot switch off the love I have for them. Whatever “surprises” my children spring on me, I will stand with them and always love them. If need be, we will work things out together.

Leave a Reply

